The Gravity of Birds by Tracy Guzeman

A haunting debut of love in all its forms, The Gravity of Birds perfectly captures the devastating consequences betrayal can have through the decades, echoing right through to the present day.

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Maggie O’Farrell

Sisters Alice and Natalie were once close, but adolescence has wrenched them apart. Alice is a dreamer who loves books and birds; Natalie is headstrong, manipulative – and beautiful.

On their lakeside family holiday, Alice falls under the thrall of a struggling young painter, Thomas Bayber. Natalie, however, seems strangely unmoved, tolerating sittings for a family portrait with surprising indifference. But by the end of the summer, three lives are shattered.

Decades later, Thomas, now a world-renowned artist, reveals the existence of a portrait of himself with Alice and Natalie from that fateful summer. The sisters themselves have disappeared without a trace. And Thomas is torn between taking the secrets of the girls to the grave, or using the painting to resurrect the past before it closes up on them all for good…

20130822-191213.jpg

‘The Gravity of Birds’ tells the story of two sisters, Alice and Natalie who unbeknown to them share the same lover.
Thomas their lover is an artist and during one eventful summer, Thomas captures his memories on canvas.

Flash forward, years later and as life has continued for the three, the secrets of that summer are still out there, scattered amongst three paintings!

It took me a while to get into the story, but once I was caught up in the beautiful writings of Tracy Guzeman, I found myself completely ensconced in the sisters world and intrigued to find out more.

Alice made this story for me, her struggles physically and mentally, really made me feel her pain and I hoped so much that she would get some kind of happiness. Even with the hand she was dealt, Alice stayed a warm character.
Natalie on the other hand came across as cold, but I’m of the opinion that she was a tortured soul.

Tracy Guzeman has wove a tale of mystery, deceit and intrigue, in this emotional and heartfelt read.

4/5

I would like to thank Harper Collins for sending me a copy to review.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s