My Book Moment – Living my dream!

Today the truly beautiful Megan is sharing with us her book moment, there are no words to express the emotions I felt when reading this!

You can connect with Megan via Reading in the Sunshine

20131001-200817.jpg

The lovely Kirsty has been asking for book moments and I suppose the main event that stands out in my life so far is meeting and marrying the love of my life, because although I hoped that it would happen, I never imagined that it would turn out as wonderful as it has!

A bit of background information: I’m physically disabled. At the age of three I was diagnosed with a brain tumour, and there were slim chances that I’d even live. I remember being examined by a doctor, then suddenly being rushed in an ambulance to the major hospital with flashing lights. I spent the entire summer in hospital, being operated on for 10 hours straight, having steroids and blood pushed into me and everyone around me hoping that I’d come through it. Luckily I did and I’m thankful every day that I’m here. But it left me with a lot of problems. I was left with some of the tumour that they couldn’t remove, and paralysed down my right hand side, meaning that effectively I only have one hand and leg that works properly. I had to re-learn to walk, to dress, feed myself, it was like starting over again.

Today I find most things are a great task, some days I struggle to get out of bed and dress myself, I can’t really do anything that involves using two hands so I need help with a large part of my life. Something so simple as making a cup of tea or trying shoelaces is like climbing a mountain to me. And I can’t walk very far at all, because of my limited mobility and exhaustion, so most of the time when I go out I have to use a wheelchair. I was worried that because of this I would never find love, I had fears I’d be alone forever .

One day I was going to meet some friends at the beach, about five minutes from my house, and one of my friends happened to mention that her boyfriend was coming, but he was being dropped off by someone else and was it alright if they hung out with all of us too. And when they arrived, Stephen stepped out of the car and smiled at me and that was it – I know people talk about love at first sight and it was!

20131001-201516.jpg

We spent the day together on the beach, we chatted and laughed like we’d known each other for years, and he even held my hand! My heart melted and I fell head over heels in love with him!

20131001-201639.jpg

I was worried about telling him about my problems, I’d never felt this way about anybody before and I was afraid that he’d run a mile! But Stephen took my hand, kissed my cheek and told me “I love you just the way you are!”

20131001-201830.jpg

From that moment we spent as much time together as we could, and he became my best friend as well as my boyfriend. We did absolutely everything together – we went on day trips out, we went on dates to the cinema – our first date was to see Marley & Me and stupidly I put make up on thinking I’d try and dress up a bit – TOTAL MISTAKE. I came out with panda eyes where I’d sobbed so much and ice cream down my dress where in my crying state I’d dropped it over me – I felt mortified! But he just laughed, took me home and cooked us both a nice meal, and by the end of the night we were giggling over what had happened.

20131001-202115.jpg

Stephen proposed to me about a year and a half after we started dating. He was very traditional and had sneakily spoken to both of my parents and asked them for permission, and my sister even knew! Stephen invited me round for dinner on a Friday night, and said for me to dress up, and so I did. And he cooked a lovely romantic three course meal for us with candles on the table too, and at the end he got down on one knee and told me how he’d been waiting for someone like me his whole life, and how special I was to him, and he asked me to marry him. I said yes and cried happy tears and he had a few tears too!

We spent three wonderful years planning and saving, and making sure everything was perfect for our wedding day. We were going to have a traditional Church wedding and they were ever so kind us, I’d explained that I wouldn’t be able to stand for the duration so they put out some chairs for us to sit on and we worked out that myself and Stephen would sit for the hymns, prayers and reading, and stand for the vows and the rings. I was absolutely determined that I would walk down the aisle, I so desperately wanted to be able to do that, so the dress shop gave me my wedding dress early and I practiced for weeks walking in it, sitting in it, I even wanted to kneel for the blessing and so me, my mum and my sister spent days trying to kneel with so much material, more often than not I ended up on the floor but we’d have a laugh about it and try again.

20131001-202322.jpg

On the wedding day I wasn’t nervous at all, I was just so excited to be married to my best friend and the person who understood me and loved me most on the whole world. We’d exchanged wedding cards and presents with each other a few days earlier and he’d written such lovely things about me that still make me emotional every time I read it. Everyone else couldn’t believe how calm I was, they were all a bit nervous and I kept smiling and saying “It’s fine, I know he’ll be waiting at the top of the aisle!”

20131001-202432.jpg

I arrived at the church and positioned myself ready to walk up the aisle, with my dad on one side and my sister behind me as my bridesmaid. And as soon as the organ started, the curtains opened and there he was – right at the top of the aisle grinning at me. He had tears in his eyes as he watched me walk up the aisle, and my cheeks were sore from smiling so much! And as I got to the top he leant over and whispered in my ear “You look beautiful!”

20131001-202625.jpg

We had such a beautiful day – every word of our wedding felt as though it had been carefully selected and it was perfect. Stephen held my hand all the way through the entire day and never let go! It was a very emotional day for us, we both had happy tears on a few occasions and so did the guests joining us!

20131001-202720.jpg

Everybody in the room knew that we never expected me to live even a few years past my operation, and so for them all to see me grow up and get married around the 20 year anniversary was magical for them.
And I felt so happy and content that I was married to the man that made me feel like the most special girl in the world. Stephen is wonderful – he’s ever so kind, patient, understanding and I know he’d do anything for me – he loves me for me, I love him for how he is, and I know that we’re soulmates.

20131001-202526.jpg

We’re ever so happy and in love together and I really look forward to the future knowing that I have him by my side every step of the way. He came into my life like Prince Charming, swept me off of my feet and he has made my dreams come true!

20131001-202846.jpg

A huge thank you to Megan for sharing not only her book moment but these beautiful pictures too

8 thoughts on “My Book Moment – Living my dream!

  1. tishylou

    **sob** Oh Megan!!! That's such a beautiful story!! I love how in love you guys are and I'm so pleased that you've got your happy ever after! You deserve it and more!! ❤

Leave a Reply

