The Book House – Happy Endings?

Today entering ‘The Book House’ we have Jody from
http://spoonfulofhappyendings.blogspot.com

20131013-104221.jpg

You’ve been selected to enter the big book house!
You are allowed to take with you 6 characters (dead or alive)
Once in the house, the eliminations will start, who wins you decide?
This is your book house, played by your rules, the only thing you need is your chosen characters!
Have fun & remember big bookhouse is watching you!

I got quite excited as soon as I read about this feature, thought out by the lovely Kirsty, because it would simply be one of the best things ever to be trapped in one house with some of my favourite literary characters. Ideally, I’d organise a round of auditions, just to make sure only the best people end up in that house with me (you never know what might happen as soon as you’re trapped behind closed doors…), but for now I’ll just have to trust my own instincts, which is not too difficult, actually, since I am also the one who decides the outcome *cue evil laugh*!

1. Angela Clark from Lindsey Kelk’s ‘I Heart…’ series

20131009-162922.jpg
Obviously, every girl needs a best friend. Especially when you’re trapped in a house with handsome men (you need to gossip about them with someone). I didn’t really need to think too long about this one, because it has to be Angela Clark from Lindsey Kelk’s ‘I Heart…’ books. She’s hilarious, she can tell some fabulous stories about all her adventures, and she’s not interested in any of the men around because she has a lovely man waiting for her at home!

2. Fitzwilliam Darcy from Jane Austen’s ‘Pride and Prejudice

20131009-163031.jpg
Things can get quite boring when you’re trapped in a house, I can imagine. So, what better way to keep myself occupied than adding a fascinating and slightly difficult man to the mix of housemates! I will need to figure out how to get a proud man like Darcy to like me, and as soon as that’s over and done with, he can entertain me with all his stories about his stunning country manor, Pemberley (which he promises to take me to as soon as we’re out of this house).

3. Mary Poppins

20131009-163312.jpg
I’m not the best cook, and not a particularly big fan of cleaning either, so I need someone around the house who can help with that, preferably with a bit of magic. Well, it obviously has to be Mary Poppins! I’ve always loved her, ever since I was a little girl, and I think it would be quite amazing (and helpful) to have her around. I’d definitely want to learn how to fly with an umbrella, and we can make some drawings on the tiles outside in the garden, and jump into them for a day of fun… Alright, I might be getting a bit too excited here, but I definitely want Mary in this house!

4. Ethan from Emily Giffin’s ‘Something Borrowed’ and ‘Something Blue

20131009-163407.jpg
I think it’s important to have an equal division between male and female blood in the house, so after 2 women and 1 man, I need another man. I immediately thought of the cute and trustworthy Ethan from Emily Giffin’s ‘Something Borrowed’ and ‘Something Blue.’ He is simply a great guy, and every woman needs one of those in her life. We’ll definitely get along straight away and become good friends, which might lead to more… Who knows?

5. Scarlett O’Brien from Ali McNamara’s ‘From Notting Hill with Love…Actually

20131009-163522.jpg
Another fabulous female character I am 100% sure I would get along with from the very first second. I need someone like Scarlett to dream about romantic heroes that come and save us from this big house we’re locked up in, and I am pretty sure that, since she is such a big fan of movies, she will have one or two suitcases filled with DVDs to pass the time… Perfect.

6. Albus Dumbledore from J.K. Rowling’s ‘Harry Potter’ series

20131009-163633.jpg
And last but certainly not least, I’d want Albus Dumbledore in the house. He’d be the father figure we’re still missing in the house, he can use his magic abilities to spice things up a bit when it all gets boring, he can teach us lots of things, and I am sure he and Mary would get along great.

So, who would eventually be the winner? Well, I think Darcy will be voted off pretty quickly because people think he is too proud (such prejudice *sigh*), followed by Mary because the wind had changed and she couldn’t possibly stay any longer; then Angela, because she had some trouble with her visa in the US and needed to return quickly, with the promise to keep in touch; then Dumbledore, because he obviously already knows who will win this thing and believes we can do the rest without his help and wisdom. That leaves Ethan, Scarlett and me, and I have a feeling Scarlett deserves to win this thing, so she can take up the spotlight and do all the necessary interviews, and Ethan and I can drive away together into the sunset…

20131009-163900.jpg

Here’s where you can find Jody:

Blog: http://spoonfulofhappyendings.blogspot.com
Twitter: @happyspoonful
E-mail: spoonfulofhappyendings@gmail.com

A big thanks to Jody, on Monday we have Erin entering ‘The Book House’

Leave a Reply

