Cupcakes and Christmas, The Love of a Good Book goes to Carrington’s

Today the Christmas at Carrington’s tour is visiting The Love of a Good Book.
In honour of the tour I was invited to speak to Sam, the creator of many delicious treats!

20131106-160048.jpg

Hi Sam, thank you for taking the time away from your busy cafe’ to chat to The Love of a Good Book.

Cupcakes at Carrington’s is famous for its Red Velvet Cupcake, if you could create a cupcake that sums up your life, what would it be and why?
Ooh, such a brilliant question, it would have to be a chocolate cupcake with a swirly whipped cream peak smothered in a trillion red heart sprinkles, because I’m such a romantic and love playing Cupid.

We know that Georgie loves her handbags and red velvet cupcakes, what are a few of your favourite things?
Baking – I love everything about it, I find it cathartic and cosy and delicious and… I could go on and on about how wonderful it makes me feel.
Nathan – he’s definitely my favourite man, and the memory of marrying him on that picturesque Italian hillside with the scent from the lemon grove in the warm breeze, is something I shall treasure forever.
TV – I love reality TV shows, TOWIE, Made In Chelsea, Real Housewives, I love them all, in particular Kelly Cooper: Come Onboard, now that was such a treat with all those fit sailors, I’ve even got the box set!

I am going to give you 5 names and I would like you to tell me what cakes, spring to mind and why?
Georgie: Red Velvet cupcake, because I know it’s her favourite.
Eddie: Lemon curd Queen of Hearts Tart, because he’s wickedly acerbic with a heart of gold and very loyal… if he likes you!
Nathan: Triple-tiered Victoria sponge cake, because he’s solid and traditional.
Kelly: Fruit and nut tray bake covered in bright red frosting and sprinkled with Smarties, because she’s completely bonkers and has hair that looks a bit like Ronald McDonald’s.
Mrs Grace: A lavender cupcake, because she reminds me of my granny who always smelt of lavender.

20131106-162826.jpg

Who inspires you in life?
Mary Berry! I love her, no … I actually want to be her!

You are a great friend to Georgie and always there with helpful advice, if you could give one bit of advice to live your life by, what would it be?
Be happy, smile, eat cake and have sex if you want to – I do, that‘s what the suffragettes did for us, they gave us that choice!

What are you hoping the future holds for you, Georgie and Eddie?
Lots of love, laughter and happiness. Oh, and plenty of delicious creamy-peaked cupcakes with gold glitter sprinkles.

And finally if you could set up a second café which country would you choose?
America for sure – New York!

20131106-163534.jpg

Christmas At Carrington’s is available to purchase in paperback or Ebook on Amazon UK

Thank you do much to Sam/Alexandra Brown for talking to The Love of a Good Book!

Leave a Reply

