Sharon Sant talks Inspiration

Today we have Sharon Sant talking about inspiration.

Sharon Sant was born in Dorset but now lives in Stoke-on-Trent. She graduated from Staffordshire University in 2009 with a degree in English and creative writing. She currently works part time as a freelance editor and continues to write her own stories. An avid reader with eclectic tastes across many genres, when not busy trying in vain to be a domestic goddess, she can often be found lurking in local coffee shops with her head in a book. Sometimes she pretends to be clever but really loves nothing more than watching geeky TV and eating Pringles. She is the author of a string of YA novels including Runners, The Memory Game and the Sky Song trilogy.

To find out more you can follow her on twitter: @sharonsant or find her on Facebook . You can also go to her website: www.sharonsant.com

20131030-214339.jpg

I sat looking at this page for quite a while, and all that was on there was the title. Kind of ironic having no inspiration for a post about inspiration. So I decided to tweet out for ideas, and my very good twitter buddies were inspirational as usual! One of my friends said that inspiration can be found in the most unexpected places and then I realised that he was absolutely right. I’m usually standing in a supermarket queue, or driving the kids somewhere when inspiration for a book idea strikes, somewhere it’s almost impossible to sit down and do anything about it and somewhere I should be thinking about more practical things.

Inspiration can be small or big. It can be personal, professional, creative or practical. It can come from the heart or from the intellect and it can affect your life in huge or innocuous ways. I walk down the street and see a girl with amazing hair – I’m inspired to change mine and when it’s done I get loads of compliments. That boosts my ego and makes me feel so much better about myself that I have new confidence to try something new that I wouldn’t have done before. I see a friend who has embarked on a new academic course, or learns a language, and I’m inspired to have a go by her success. It subsequently enriches my life in ways I couldn’t have foreseen. We inspire each other, each and every day, in ways we don’t even see.

I recently got invited to be a guest at an inspiring women event, hosted by Michelin. The idea for the day was that groups of schoolgirls would meet women from their local community who could inspire them to achieve more at school and in their future careers. I never think much about my day to day activities and I don’t particularly view myself as anything special. Indeed, when I stood in the presence of a female fire station chief, a police officer, a consultant obstetrician, a racing driver, engineer, blacksmith – all amazing women, I couldn’t see what any of the schoolgirls who had come to see us could take away from meeting little me. But the feedback from the day was brilliant and every girl took something away from every meeting with every woman, no matter how small a nugget it might be, something that could inspire them, in time, to greater things. Part of what inspiration is about is giving – be it confidence, courage, encouragement, or just a light to show the way. If we all give a little every day, we’ll get it back too.

A big thank you to Sharon for sharing what Inspiration means

Leave a Reply

