Rock’on Around the Christmas Tree with Nicky Wells

About Nicky Wells: Romance that Rocks Your World!

Hi! I’m Nicky Wells, your ultimate rock chick author. My books offer glitzy, glamorous contemporary romance with a rock theme ~ imagine Bridget Jones ROCKS Notting Hill! If you’ve ever had a crush on any kind of celebrity ~ rock, pop, movie or other ~ you’ll connect with my heroes and my leading ladies!

Like my first leading lady, Sophie, I love listening to rock music, dancing, and eating lobsters. When I’m not writing, I’m a wife, mother, occasional knitter, and regular contributor to The Midweek Drive show on Lincoln’s Siren 107.3 FM. Rock on!

My books: Sophie’s Turn Sophie’s Run Sophie’s Encore Spirits of Christmas
Join me: Blog | Twitter| Facebook| Romantic Novelists’ Association | Sapphire Star Publishing | Amazon | Pinterest

20131201-125547.jpg

‘Spirits of Christmas’ is about Jude, please could you tell me a bit about him?
Jude. Ah, Jude. Jude is an up-and-coming rock singer in his mid-twenties. He has a glorious voice, deep and gravelly but with strength and warmth. It’s enough to make any girl’s heart melt, even before you consider his devastating good looks. Imagine…oooh imagine Jon Bon Jovi meets Cooper Delaney, and you’re in the right ball park.

Now, Jude is a bit of a troubled soul. He’s lost his way, in a big way. He had it all ~ a band, a platinum selling record, a wonderful girlfriend ~ but the success got in his head, and he lost all perspective. He turned arrogant and bossy, spiteful and intolerant, and, worst of all, he lost touch with his inner muse. When things begin to crumble around him, he blames everybody but himself. When we first meet Jude, he doesn’t seem a very nice character at all but remember, he’s at his lowest ebb. Underneath it all is a caring, warm and highly talented musician, and that’s what the Ghosts are there to remind him.

They say the journey to being published is one of the hardest an author can take, please can you describe the journey that you went on?
Wow! Great question. It certainly is a tough journey. I wrote my first book in 2004, but it took me a few years to work up the confidence to try publishing it. Conventional routes via agents and publishers didn’t yield an opening for me at first. Ironically, I was ahead of my time by writing books about rock stars, and I was told there was no market for them. Ha! In 2011, I published my first book, Sophie’s Turn, via Kindle Direct Publishing. I gained reviews, started building a network and garnered a small following of readers. With that, I plucked up the courage to submit once again to agents and publishers. In January 2012, I connected with Sapphire Star Publishing via Facebook, submitted my manuscript for Sophie’s Turn, and signed with them less than four weeks later. Since then, I have published the complete Rock Star Romance Trilogy (Sophie’s Turn, Sophie’s Run and Sophie’s Encore), worked hard at building a platform via my blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads and so on, and kept writing, writing, writing. To me, that’s the most important thing an author can do.

Spirits of Christmas is my fourth book, and I elected to publish it independently. I’m currently working on my fifth book ~ more on that below ~ and I’m considering options for the publication route for this one. Watch this space!

If ‘Spirits of Christmas’ was to be made into a film, who would your ideal cast be?
Hmmmmmmm…. For Jude, probably Hugh Dancy. Or Cooper Delaney meets Bon Jovi, of course. And for Carrie….Talulah Riley. What do you think?

20131201-125623.jpg

Writers put so much time and energy into their characters and I have been told in the past that a writer carries their characters around with them. So my question is if you could go out for a day with any one of your characters: who would it be, what would you do and why did you pick this particular character?
Oh, Dan. Dan Hunter of the Rock Star Romance Trilogy. It was dreaming him up that got me properly into writing, and he was my first golden-voiced ‘bad boy’ rock-star hero. I think he’ll always have a special place in my heart!

What would we do? I think Dan would probably have to take me to Paris for a fancy day out, lovely meals, lots of champagne and… well, the works. Not forgetting a Tuscq concert of course, I’m expecting VIP seats!

If you could give one piece of advice to an aspiring author, what would it be?
Just keep writing. Hone your craft, get feedback, improve, but keep writing. Don’t go crazy about sales stats. Don’t fret about whether or not you’re a bestseller a week/month/year after publication. Just write. That’s what you do, and that’s what’ll get you noticed.

Was there any book you read as a child that convinced you that you wanted to become a writer? If so, which one was it?
Enid Blyton’s books got me reading and wanting to be a writer, but the book that most strongly sparked my ambition was ‘The Never Ending Story’ by Michael Ende. I remember being completely enchanted by this book. It was printed in green and purple font, one for Sebastian’s ‘real’ story and one for the ‘fantasy’ within it. It followed me around in my dreams, I rooted for Sebastian, I was Sebastian, and it transformed my thinking about stories. Anything was possible! That’s when I decided that I wanted to become a writer, too. It took me a few decades to get there, but here I am.

If there was one saying that could sum up your life, what would it be?
Just one? Well. Um. I can’t restrict myself to just one. Here’s why.

“Have faith. Everything happens for a reason.” I’ve had many occasions in my life where I doubted that I was on the right track. You know, breaking up with boyfriends, jobs that I didn’t get, opportunities that I missed. But looking back, each and every one of these ‘bad’ events actually led to something greater, bigger, better. It might have taken a while, but in the end, it worked out. So I strongly believe that everything happens for a reason, even if you can’t see it at the time.

However. That’s not to say that it’s advisable to sit back and hope for the best. On the contrary. I think “everything happens for a reason” needs to be coupled with “tough it out” and “keep plucking away.” Or in other words, never give up. Especially when things get tough, you need to double your efforts, pick yourself up, and have another go. Try something else, think of a new plan, keep going.

Combine the two philosophies and you’re away. Good luck! Lol. That was unexpectedly deep; management apologises for the unintended life lesson!

If you were told that you could live any day without repercussions for your actions, what would you do and why?
Oh. Oh oh oh. Well. Okay, I would go to a Bon Jovi concert, make my way backstage, and party hard. I would undertake a parachute jump. I would go diving on the Barrier reef (you said no consequences, right? So I can’t possibly drown, even though I can’t swim?). And I would print enough money to last me and my family a lifetime. Ha!

Please would you share who your 5 dream Christmas party guests would be?
Really? I get to have my dream Christmas party? Well, assuming that my OH and kids are already there… let’s see. Jon Bon Jovi, because he sings so beautifully. Joey Tempest, because ditto. (There’s a theme here…) Graham Norton, because he makes me laugh. Renee Zellwegger in her Bridget Jones incarnation, to giggle and share cocktails with. And Santa, of course, to bring everybody presents.

20131201-130136.jpg

What can we expect next, any future books in the pipeline?
Oh, definitely! I’m only just getting warmed up. My next book is titled Fallen For Rock and is due for publication in the summer of 2014. I’m about a third of the way done writing it at this time and loving hanging out with my new characters. Here’s the blurb:

Fallen For Rock

Love, life, loyalties. Nothing stays the same when Emily gets drawn into the world of rock…

Glossy and sophisticated, professional high-flyer Emily has no time for nonsense such as the rock music her ex-boyfriend Nate adored so much. Yet when she unexpectedly comes into possession of VIP tickets—access all areas—for new rock band phenomenon, MonX, she can’t resist the temptation.

The fateful gig turns into more than one night and Emily finds herself strangely drawn to this new and unfamiliar, glittery world. However, only weeks later, MonX and her own universe fall apart, with devastating consequences for all. When MonX lead-singer, Mike, appeals for her help, she reluctantly embraces a new opportunity. But she soon discovers that while she may be a rock chick after all, a groupie she is not… Or is she?

Just exactly where do her loyalties lie? And what direction will her life take now that she’s left behind everything she treasured?

20131201-221536.jpg

A big thank you to Nicky for talking to The Love of a Good Book

7 thoughts on “Rock’on Around the Christmas Tree with Nicky Wells

  1. Thanks so much, Liv!! 🙂 Glad you could stop by and happy reading ~ plus all the best for a fabulous festive season!! Let me know your guesses as to who the ghosts are…?? XXX 😉

  2. Hiya, Kirsty! I think the 'thanks' is mine to give ~ to you, for hosting mere here today on your fabulous blog. Thank you for all your enthusiasm and support, you rock! Wishing you (again) a wonderful Christmas season and a huge, lovely pile of presents. XXX 🙂

  3. I loved Sophie's Turn and have all of your other books on my iPad waiting patiently (or not) to be read. Your comment about not worrying about sales stats and such reminded me of an interview I read with Ian Rankin just this week. He said it took 14 years before he was able to live off his income from writing. So in the meantime, we keep our day jobs and dream of that day… 🙂

Leave a Reply

