A Gift to Remember by Melissa Hill

Darcy Archer works in a small bookstore in Manhattan. A daydream believer, she refuses to settle for anything less than being swept off her feet by the perfect man… literally. One day, when cycling to work, Darcy accidentally crashes into a sharply dressed gentleman walking his dog.
He is knocked out cold, rushed to hospital and the poor pup gets left behind. Wracked with guilt, Darcy takes the dog and makes plans to reunite him with owner, Aidan. As she discovers the mysterious stranger’s world of books, travel, adventure and all the wonderful things she’s ever dreamt about, Darcy builds a picture of this man and wonders if he could be THE ONE…
But does fantasy match reality? What happens when Prince Charming wakes up? Will Aidan be the happy ever after she’s always imagined?

20131018-190433.jpg

Darcy Archer is living my dream, she’s a manager of a bookstore in New York!
But one day whilst cycling to work, Darcy crashes into Aidan Harris.
And in that moment, their lives are about to change.

For Aidan is left with no memories of who he is.
Feeling guilty and helpless Darcy sets about discovering the real Aidan and helping him regain his memories.
But with just a dog and a gift as her only clues, will it be easy?

I read this book slowly, I was determined to savour every page, every word!
But now it’s ended I’m lost, I can’t quite put into words the happiness I felt.

The characters were written so beautifully that straight away I could see them in my head and hear their accents.
I was in love with the characters as soon as we were introduced.
Darcy was wonderful, her love of books won me over instantly and I was left in awe at her determination to discover who Aidan was and I soon found myself wanting Darcy to meet her big love, to have the story Jane Austen would’ve given her.
Then there was Aidan, dreamy Aidan!
I fell in love with him more with every page, the way he was concerned for Bailey, the quotes he came out with, he is a dream man within the pages!

Then there’s Bailey, the gorgeous husky.
Bailey for me was the character, who brought the best out in everyone.
Through him, friendships were formed.
Without him we wouldn’t have discovered the real Grace. (Darcy’s neighbour) who up until the accident seemed mysterious and aloof.

I don’t know what I enjoyed the most about this book.
The quotes that start all of Darcy’s chapters, the wonderful characters, the descriptive settings, the festive feel or the twists that I never imagined happening.
I could gush on about this for days because Melissa Hill has given us all ‘A Gift to Remember’
A gift that will stay with me forever, in the form of characters who felt like friends!

20131205-224450.jpg

2 thoughts on “A Gift to Remember by Melissa Hill

Leave a Reply

