2013, Thank you for the BOOKS!

I’ve found myself going over the books I’ve read this year and trying to narrow down my favourites.
The problem is that my year has been a whirlwind, I’ve changed the path I’m on several times and as such I’ve found more comfort from books, I’ve found empathy within the pages and the characters lives.

So what should’ve been a top 10 or even top 5, isn’t!

My top ? books.

The Dressmaker by Kate Alcott

20131230-164520.jpg
Everyone has heard of the Titanic but besides the iceberg and the love story Kate and Leo acted out for us, what else do you know?
The Dressmaker is a a truly touching story that tells what happened on the lifeboats that tragic night, through fiction comes truth, as the author shares facts from the trial and witness accounts.
I knew the event had happened, but the realness I felt thought the pages, meant I couldn’t close the book. I read until the early hours because I didn’t want to leave them when help was needed.

By My Side by Alice Peterson

20131230-165916.jpg
In my review I said ‘This is a story that you should pick up and experience, it’s a story that will stay with you and make you think’
I love Alice Peterson’s style of writing, she inspires you through her characters.

The Life List by Lori Nelson Spielman

20131230-170923.jpg
Several people have received this as a gift from me, I love the way it inspires you to live life, to look at what you really want and go for it.

The Perfume Collector by Kathleen Tessaro

20131230-171550.jpg
This is a beautiful story that tells the story of the mysterious Eva through her perfume collection, it’s unique in its telling and enticing to the reader from the first page.

About a Girl by Lindsey Kelk

20131230-172016.jpg
I loved this book, I relate to Tessa, so much so that I found myself falling in love with Nick (that’s myself excuse and I’m sticking to it)
I didn’t want to close the book and leave Tessa, Nick and the gang behind, but I’m consoling myself with the fact that they will be back in 2014.

Nearest Thing to Crazy by Elizabeth Forbes

20131230-172547.jpg
A gripping read, that plays with the readers mind, I read this book in 3 hours and even now I find myself getting angry when I think of one of the characters.
A book that can grab that kind of emotion, is highly recommended.

The Sentinel by Holly Martin

20131230-175140.jpg
This book is a wonderful example of why self publishing is a gift to the publishing industry.
I LOVE this book, it’s amazing, the best debut I’ve read this year and the start of a series!

A Gift to Remember by Melissa Hill

20131018-190433.jpg
Based around a bookstore manager at Christmas in New York, it felt like Darcy was living my dream!
I savoured this book, I wanted the story to live on.

What Would Oprah Do? By Erin Emerson

20131230-180831.jpg
Life never runs according to plan and sometimes you need something to lighten your mood.
What Would Oprah Do? Is a wonderful read, that will have you laughing out loud.

Twelve Dates of Christmas by Lisa Dickinson

20131230-181522.jpg
A fabulous series of Novella’s, with romance, humour and everything Christmassy, I just love these books!

Christmas at Carrington’s by Alexandra Brown

20131208-182432.jpg
Carrington’s gets my series vote for 2013, in the course of 12 months Alexandra Brown has introduced us to Georgie, Sam, Eddie and Tom in three wonderful instalments.
Cupcakes at Carrington’s, Me and Mr Carrington and Christmas at Carrington’s.
A fabulous series that will be welcomed back with a huge smile and open arms in 2014!

Take A Look At Me Now by Miranda Dickinson

20131230-175758.jpg
This book left me with such a book hangover, I will never get over the emotions I felt turmng the last page and realising I’d left Nell’s world.
For me this book is life changing, it brings home that you should always be true to yourself and follow your happiness!

20131230-184308.jpg

So there you have it, my top books of 2013, a book for every mood, memory and moment life can throw at you!

2013 has been a great book year, not only have I memories of wonderful books I’ve read but this year Ive also been lucky enough to meet Lauren Weisberger

20131230-183619.jpg

Attend the Festival of Romance ball as a shortlisted blogger of the year

20131230-183730.jpg

And made some amazing friends, all through my love of books.

I want to take this opportunity to wish you all a fabulous New Year
I look forward to 2014 and everything it holds within the pages and the life we lead.

With love
Kirsty
Xxx

20131230-184800.jpg

4 thoughts on “2013, Thank you for the BOOKS!

  1. This is a great list, I have Nearest Thing to Crazy to read and your comments have just made this a Must Read Soon book because anything that makes you feel something so strongly (even anger) must be a powerful read. Thanks and Happy New Year.

  2. Thank you for including By My Side Kirsty – I’ve had lots of fun being involved with your blog too. Happy happy new year and may 2014 be the best yet! Love, Alice xx

Leave a Reply

