My heart belongs to ………

Today I would like to introduce to you, the first post of The Love of a Good Book, ‘My Heart Belongs to’ feature, which will run throughout February!

20140129-193120.jpg

Throughout school I longed for acceptance, being bullied for most of my time at secondary school, left me isolated and full of loathing.
But the acceptance I needed was from myself.
I had taken on vicious opinions of myself. Suddenly I was the chubby four eyed girl, the one who wouldn’t speak up.
I hated myself!

After leaving school I tried so hard to shake off the stigma I felt I carried.
But it never worked, I could lose weight, ditch the glasses and have dutch courage before a night out but still I would avoid mirrors, cover my arms and walk with my head down.

Back in 2009, I boarded a plane with family.

20140129-201615.jpg
When I landed it was incredibly hot, i had never known heat like it.
I tried so hard to keep my jacket on but even I had to admit I was melting!
Tentatively I looked around, then slowly I took my jacket off.
No one said anything, I felt the warmth on the tops of my arms and started walking.

Little did I know that after removing my comfort blanket, I would find the place that helped me to accept me,
That’s why my heart belongs to Çalış Plajı!

20140129-193210.jpg
Up until going to Çalış I’d never understood that free spirited happiness I’ve heard of, but throughout that holiday I started to feel lighter, more carefree.
I found myself forgetting to worry about my ‘fat arms’ and all my other flaws.

20140129-200314.jpg
I smiled at people, I spoke to strangers, I hid in a cupboard and declared I was never coming home.

20140129-194705.jpg

But most of all I started to like me, I always believed it was a myth that if you liked yourself other people would start to like you too.

20140129-200904.jpg
But then people were paying me compliments, asking to stay in touch, suddenly I didn’t feel like the outcast. I felt like I belonged.

I found a place where I could be a carefree happy version of me.

20140129-193311.jpg

Returning back home you will still always find me with my arms covered and worrying about what people think of me.

20140129-201708.jpg
But I have changed and that’s because I know Çalış is with me every day.

20140129-200620.jpg
it’s in my memories, it’s in my tattoo and it’s the mindset that guides me to talk to people, to smile more and if I never find another place where I belong, at least for a little bit of every year, I know I belong in Çalış, because my heart belongs there.

20140129-202626.jpg

SENI SEVIYORUM Çalış

12 thoughts on “My heart belongs to ………

Leave a Reply

