Seth Hamilton, My Heart Belongs to….

20140201-194658.jpg

Today sharing where his heart belongs is Seth Hamilton
You can read about Seth in the amazing The Sentinel by Holly Martin!

20140227-224847.jpg

My heart belongs to Eve Jones. Although that statement doesn’t even begin to cover what I feel for her. I love her so much it actually hurts. It’s such a ridiculous thing to say but in my case it’s true. My heart aches every time I’m with her and hurts even more every time we are apart. She… consumes me, she is every breath I take, every heartbeat, every sight, every sound, every smell, every touch is her. It’s always been her. My Evie.
It wasn’t love at first sight, we were only four when we first met. It was my duty to protect her, to make friends with her and if necessary die to save her. It has been foreseen that she is to save the world and there is nothing more important than her being alive at the end to fulfil that prophecy. She was a job, nothing more and nothing less.
It took about five weeks for me to fall under her spell. Well, in truth it happened much sooner than that but I didn’t want to admit it. The Guardians don’t have emotions, and they certainly wouldn’t let their feelings cloud their judgement. Being only half Guardian, I knew I could be susceptible to those weak human emotions and I was determined to be like the other Guardians, cool, impassive, strong willed. To admit I was in love with her would obviously be a huge sign of weakness.
I remember the day clearly, when she spilt her milk all over me. I sat on the floor, dripping from head to toe and watched her expression change through horror, guilt, embarrassment and even fear. I wanted nothing more than to wrap her in my arms and hold her tight. And that was it. I was in love and there was nothing I could do about it. That feeling never went away.
Although if I thought I was in trouble then, I’m even more in trouble now fourteen years later. This love for her grew and grew until it coursed through my veins and hummed through my skin. She was an addiction I couldn’t escape from.
The first time we kissed, she glowed. An actual glow that shone out from her like the most powerful lighthouse. A golden beam that filled the room. I could feel her powers burn through her and bubble through me. It was the most intense experience of my life. We’ve kissed many times since then, there is always a glow, a sparkle, but nothing like that first time.
But with this love also comes this immense fear. I have to keep her safe, not to save the world or to fulfil the prophecy but for me. I know that’s selfish considering what she was created for but the thought of losing her brings me to my knees. I simply cannot exist without her. There have been too many times I’ve nearly lost her, the Putarians have got too close, the helicopter crash in the sea, she’s been poisoned and tortured. And every time this fear has almost been too much to bear. I worry that this fear will ultimately be what kills her. Distracted by the fear of losing her will be the very thing that tears her away from me, I won’t be quick enough to react, I’ll let it consume me and then it will be too late.
But today, I have a new fear. I don’t think I have ever felt so scared as I do today and this time there is nothing I can do. No brute force or super human strength can help me today. Even Eve’s personal guard are powerless to help. I feel sick and I can’t stop shaking.
She’s here now, standing in front of me and I can’t believe what I have to do.
Holding her hand, I get down on one knee> My heart roars with love as I ask her to marry me.
I only hope she says yes.

AAAAARRRRGGGGGH I love this, I love Seth and Eve so much. Holly how could you end it there????
Thank you for writing this amazing piece

Leave a Reply

