The Lie of You by Jane Lythall

Can you hide your deepest fear?

To the outside world, Kathy is the very picture of a happy and fulfilled modern woman. She has a beautiful baby boy, a clever, handsome husband and a glamorous, high-powered job.

But not everybody is fooled. Her employee, Heja, knows the truth: the cracks in Kathy’s marriage, her self-doubt, her fear of failure at work. Heja is perfectly placed to destroy Kathy’s life. And if she succeeds, she can claim the one thing she wants most…

This is a chilling psychological thriller about obsession, jealousy, and lying to those you love.

20140302-171527.jpg

Kathy has a good job, a beautiful baby & a lovely husband Markus.
The story starts as she is due to go back to work after her maternity leave.
When Kathy returns back to work, she is faced with Heja.
A seemingly aloof woman who works for her, but what lurks behind Heja’s standoffish personality?

Wow! The Lie of You is a thoroughly gripping read that had me turning the page in rapid succession, so much so that I read it in a day and had to apologise to my family for the lack of response to anything that was asked of me!

When I picked up the book, I wasn’t expecting to be pulled into such an intense story line.
Yes the tag-line says it’s a psychological thriller, but nothing prepared me for the intensity I would feel from the characters.

There is a great mix of characters, all of them pull some sort of emotion from the reader.
I felt for Kathy, the trauma she was going through. At least in a positive way she had the support of Aisha and Fran.
Heja is a character that filled me with hatred, she wasn’t a likeable character at all.
She has so much going on in her head.

I loved the way the story split the narratives between both Kathy and Heja, I think this really added to the story.

A sinister story that will keep your hooked with the secrets within.

5/5

A big thank you to Becci at Head of Zeus for sending me a copy to review.

2 thoughts on “The Lie of You by Jane Lythall

  1. First of all apologies to your family for distracting you all day Kirsty!
    Seriously though it’s great to hear that you found my novel an intense read.
    I tried to get into the heads of the two characters and tell their story as truly as I could.
    Thanks for your terrific review.

Leave a Reply

