Thirty-Two Going on Spinster by Becky Monson

Blurb:
Julia Dorning is a spinster, or at least on the road to becoming one. She has no social life, hates her career, and lives in her parent’s basement with her cat, Charlie.

With the arrival of Jared Moody, the new hire at work, Julia’s mundane life is suddenly turned upside down. Her instant (and totally ridiculous) crush on the new guy causes Julia to finally make some long-overdue changes, in hopes to find a life that includes more than baking and hanging out with Charlie.

But when the biggest and most unexpected change comes, will the new and improved Julia be able to overcome it? Or will she go back to her spinster ways?

20140201-184654.jpg

My thoughts:
Julia is thirty-two and living in her parents basement.
She’s stuck in a job that she has hated for ten years and has just discovered that the meaning of the word spinster seems to apply to her.
But how do you change your life when change isn’t something you like?

Honestly I didn’t know what to expect when I started reading Thirty-Two Going on Spinster.
I will admit like Julia, my opinion of the word spinster is highly negative and I too fear that’s what I will end up checking under marital status in the future!

So I suppose in a way I was slightly fretful that Julia and I would be very alike and in many ways we were.
But thankfully as the story progressed, I started to view this as a positive.

In fact the whole book made my day positive.
With it’s humour, wonderful characters and tale of self discovery, I found myself lost in the world of spinster!

Julia is an easy to relate to character, she is an over thinker and quite often her over thinking gets her into trouble, which makes for some wonderful lines.
Other wonderful lines come in the form of Brown, Julia’s gossipy co-worker and Jared, the rather dishy HR worker!

In fact there wasn’t one character I didn’t like.
But for me, the highlight of this story is the journey that Julia goes on, it makes this a fantastic feel good read, which will leave you smiling.

5/5

A big thank you to Becky for sending me a copy to review

2 thoughts on “Thirty-Two Going on Spinster by Becky Monson

Leave a Reply

