Throwback Thursday: Stepping back inside Room 13

20140504-182500.jpg

If truth be told I was excited to re-read Room 13 by Robert Swindells but at the same time I was scared, for years I’ve talked about this book with such passion and I really didn’t want it to lose it’s magic.
It’s always been a story that I’ve thought helped ignite my love of reading, a book that gripped me and powered my imagination.

If you haven’t read, Room 13, here’s the blurb:

There is no room thirteen in the creepy Crow’s Nest Hotel, where Fliss and her friends are staying on a school trip. Or is there? For at the stroke of midnight, something peculiar happens to the door of the linen cupboard next to room l2. And something is happening to Ellie-May Sunderland, too – something very sinister.

My Thoughts:
Through every page, every word, I was pulled back into the world of Fliss and her friends.
I was reminded of bits I had forgotten, jokes that I had howled at as a child and was captivated yet again.

I won’t lie, the story wasn’t as magical, maybe because I now know that I can stay at hotels without cupboards morphing into mysterious rooms.

I knew I would look on the story differently, I’m older now and my reading tastes have developed but I’m please to say that ultimately it was the book I remembered, it was the story I loved, the story I wanted all my friends to love and talk about.
It was Room 13, the story which excited me and made me love reading even more.
I owe that book so much and even now as an adult, I can still see why it captivated my imagination.

20140520-195834-71914693.jpg

I didn’t write reviews as a child, but I’ve mocked up what I might’ve said!

First off, you need to keep the lights on! Don’t forget, do not read in the dark.
Also don’t sleep by a cupboard in a hotel or just don’t go on any school trips EVER!
Fliss and her friends have the most exciting and scary school trip and when they tell the teachers they are in danger, they don’t believe them!
But teachers should, it’s like the law or something.
Now, grab this book and read it!
It might scare you but it will be brilliant.
I’m so glad Mr T had this on the bookshelf, my school has the best books and I love reading, it’s a lot more exciting than sports, I just wish we could do it for PE!

So there you have it, from myself and I.
Read Room 13, you might just love it!

Next week on Throwback Thursday, Laura Lovelock.

If you would like to take part in Throwback Thursday please drop me an email on loveofagoodbook@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Stepping back inside Room 13

Leave a Reply

