Throwback Thursday: Laura Lovelock talks Dahl

20140504-182500.jpg
Today’s Throwback Thursday guest is the fantastic Laura,
You can connect with Laura via She Loves to Read or on
twitter

I was a fortunate child in the sense I never went one evening without a bedtime story. I was also lucky enough to have a patient father who would wait for hours whilst I spent Saturday mornings in the library and even more privileged that I was surrounded by such a glorious number of books.

When I think back to my childhood books, many stand out – Peace At Last by Jill Murphy, One Snowy Night by Nick Butterworth, Laura’s Star, A Bun For Barney, The Animals Of Wishing Well Wood, Six Dinner Sid..

But perhaps one of the books I look back with the greatest fondness for is by an author who is timeless. His books will be read for decades to come and shared with so many children – if I’m ever lucky enough to have children of my own then this will be top of the list…

The Twits by Roald Dahl

20140529-070750-25670865.jpg

Bordering on rude, this book engages young readers and parents alike. Based on two ugly characters with hilarious names, The Twits, is my favourite of Dahl’s impressive collection and I always remember it with such fondness.

I recently re-read the book and fell in love with it all over again.

Dahl’s sense of humour is spot on and the way he connects with young readers through his use of engaging questions and tangible descriptions makes him one of the most gifted children’s authors of all time. The rivalry between Mr & Mrs Twit is genius and as they constantly try to get one up on each other, you can’t help but laugh at the silliness of it all. As the plot progresses and more characters are introduced, readers can’t help but hate The Twits and cheer with happiness when they get their comeuppance.

Quentin Blake only adds to the perfection with his simplistic but instantly recognisable drawings that capture Dahl’s text perfectly. I love examining them all closely to find the small details that could be missed if one were to merely glance at each picture instead of study them intently.

Perhaps my favourite part of Dahl’s story though is the message he conveys through these two ghastly characters…

“If a person has ugly thoughts, it begins to show on the face. And when that person has ugly thoughts every day, every week, every year, the face gets uglier and uglier until you can hardly bear to look at it.

A person who has good thoughts cannot ever be ugly. You can have a wonky nose and a crooked mouth and a double chin and stick-out teeth, but if you have good thoughts it will shine out of your face like sunbeams and you will always look lovely.”

― Roald Dahl, The Twits

Anymore evidence needed as to why this man is a genius? No! I didn’t think so.

Huge thanks to Kirsty for inviting me onto her blog.
Thank you Laura for stopping by and I’m so pleased that The Twits still kept it’s magic.

Next week on Throwback Thursday, Charlene Wedgner.

If you would like to take part in Throwback Thursday please drop me an email on loveofagoodbook@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

