Guest post: Jane Lovering talks vampires and issues!

Today I am super excited to welcome Jane Lovering to The Love of a Good Book.

20140601-134009-49209241.jpg
You can connect with Jane in the following ways:
Twitter: https://twitter.com/janelovering
Facebook: http://on.fb.me/1tqEnow,
Blog: http://www.janelovering.co.uk/ and here’s the link to the first book in the series: http://amzn.to/1rkh8Rf

Blurb for Falling Apart:
In the mean streets of York, the stakes just got higher – and even pointier.
Jessica Grant liaises with Otherworlders for York Council so she knows that falling in love with a vampire takes a leap of faith. But her lover Sil, the City Vampire in charge of Otherworld York, he wouldn’t run out on her, would he? He wouldn’t let his demon get the better of him. Or would he?

Sil knows there’s a reason for his bad haircut, worse clothes and the trail of bleeding humans in his wake. If only he could remember exactly what he did before someone finds him and shoots him on sight.

With her loyalties already questioned for defending zombies, the Otherworlders no one cares about, Jess must choose which side she’s on, either help her lover or turn him in. Human or Other? Whatever she decides, there’s a high price to pay – and someone to lose.

Paperback includes a free digital copy – details within the paperback

20140601-134102-49262140.jpg

Falling Apart is the second in my ‘York Vampires’ series, and I wish, when I first said ‘I think I’ll write a series’, that someone had thrown themselves upon me and wrenched the pen from my hand, yelling ‘No! Don’t do it!’ Actually, if anyone would like to throw themselves upon me now, please feel free. It’s a bit late to stop me writing a series, but, hey, I’m game if you are…

It all seemed such a good idea at the time. Writing a series, I mean, not having people throw themselves on me. I’d created this alternate world, where vampires and zombies and werewolves all live among us, more or less peacefully, with all the attendant paperwork and filing. I’ve got the characters, Jess, who works for York council and tries to keep order between humans and Otherworlders, Sil, her vampire boyfriend and his boss Zan (possibly the only OCD vampire ever) and Liam, Jess’s sidekick. So writing a series should be simple. You’d think.

Turns out that writing serieseseses is much harder than it looks. It’s not a matter of writing one long story and splitting it up into three, because people may read the books out of order. Or they may only read one book. In either case, they are still entitled to read a story that is complete of itself, with a ‘happy ending’ of sorts, characters that they can get to know throughout the story and a central theme that keeps them reading (and hopefully makes them want to read all the other books in the series too). I don’t like the kind of series where the books end on a cliffhanger and more or less oblige you to buy subsequent books just to get any kind of resolution – it’s like boxes of chocolates (bear with me here). You don’t buy a box of chocolates that tells you on the box that it’s got a fudge selection (I am presuming you like fudge here, if you don’t then for fudge read the chocolate centre that you do like), only to eat your way through the whole box to find that it lied and there was no fudge at all, only one of those hard toffee things that makes your jaw ache and pulls out your fillings. You bought it for the fudge centres, dammit! And now you feel cheated! Of course, you could have just bought a box of fudge instead, which is where my analogy falls down, but you know what I mean. Books should have a proper ending – even if they are one of a series. And a complete story.

I’ve chosen to write about the same cast of characters throughout the series, too. I mean, I’m dealing here with a human(ish) woman who falls for a vampire, there’s a lot of issues to be deal with – not least the fact that he’s going to live for a couple of hundred years looking gorgeous and sexy, and Jess has only got another thirty years or so before she starts to look like Yoda. He’s a top-of-the-food-chain predator, and she has an appetite for biscuits that means Liam has to hide the HobNobs behind the Emergency Bucket. He lives on adrenaline, blood, excitement and passion, whilst Jess lives on Kit Kats and a pathetically tiny salary.

Like I said, issues….

One thought on “Guest post: Jane Lovering talks vampires and issues!

  1. Great post, Jane! And very true. As one who's navigated the series seas, every word you say resonates loud and clear. But! You'll get there (to the end of the series and, quite possibly, your tether. But end of series first!), and then you'll have the satisfaction of holding an EPIC tome in your hands. Epic! It's quite a different experience from a single book. And it's something worth waiting for, you'll see. Stick with it, girl!

    So as much as I love you, I won't throw myself upon you just yet. Maybe some other time that may be more appropriate for mutual throwing-each-other-at-selves.

    Thanks to Kirsty for hosting, I'm really glad I caught this post. X 🙂

Leave a Reply

