Carmel Harrington talks to The Love of a Good Book

About Carmel:
With my husband Roger and two beautiful children Amelia and Nate, I live a pretty idyllic life in Ireland, full of stories, songs, hide and seek, Mickey Mouse, walks on the beach, tickles, kisses, chocolate treats and most of all abundant love. To make life even more perfect, I have now fulfilled a lifetime ambition to be a writer as I am both a published author and a playwright. I believe in Happily Ever After’s because that’s what happened to me.

Anything else you should know? Well, I’m pretty much always on a diet, I have hair that frizzes up in hot weather, in cold weather, ok lets face it, in pretty much any weather, I would love to sing on broadway (sadly my talents don’t back up my ambition!), I’m considered quite funny by my friends, on that note, I’m a good friend, love my family, am a Daddy’s girl, love my dresses, have a wicked handbag collection, have a pretty decent eye for interior design, take dozens of photos EVERY day of the children and can make a mean risotto. Think that pretty much sums it up!

http://carmelharrington.com/

20140622-190719-68839802.jpg

They say the journey to being published is one of the hardest an author can take, please can you describe the journey that you went on?
For me, I started off by self-publishing my first novel Beyond Grace’s Rainbow as an eBook. It became a no.1. bestseller in iTunes and top 100 bestseller on Amazon, so I got noticed by an agent, who signed me and who in turn got my publishing deal with Harper Collins’s romance imprint, Harper Impulse.
Self publishing is hard work, but I’ve worked just as hard since I signed with HC. Best fun I’ve ever had though!

Writers put so much time and energy into their characters and I have been told in the past that a writer carries their characters around with them. So my question is if you could go out for a day with any one of your characters: who would it be, what would you do and why did you pick this particular character?
That’s such a great question! And one I find hard to answer…. I’d love to hang around with lots of them. I think, I’d pick Sarah in The Life You Left, because I think it could be the best fun ever spending the day with someone like her, with a gift like hers. I would ask Sarah to bring along James, her brother though! Love him!

20140622-190750-68870719.jpg
If you were told that you could live any day without repercussions for your actions, what would you do and why?
Right now, I’d go to everyones phone and text ‘Gavin’ to 50300.
He needs funds, so that he can get to the USA for a new form of treatment, that might save his life. He’s out of options in Ireland for treatment.
€4 for the text, not too much and could save this little boys life. We can all afford that can’t we?
So that’s what I would do. I’d do my utmost to get the #myboy campaign going and get Gavin to US asap.

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?
I’d go Disneyland with the children, because Amelia and Nate are so obsessed with all things Disney. I want to see their faces when they meet Mickey Mouse and the princesses for the first time.

If you could choose one book that you think everyone should read, what would it be and why?
Other than my book of course? lol…. Ok, lets see, so many to chose from. I would suggest they read To kill a mockingbird. Why? Because, no matter what genre you enjoy, no matter what age you are, its a book that transcends genre and age and is inspirational, it will stay with you long after you turn the final page.
If there was one saying that could sum up your life to date, what would it be?
‘She loved life and it loved her right back’

Please share with us, one random fact about yourself or your book?
I once partied on a private jet owned by U2!

What can we expect next, any future books in the pipeline?
I’m working on my third book, which revisits some of the characters from Beyond Grace’s Rainbow. I always felt that Abby and Gerry in particular had more to share, so this will be their stories!

20140622-190837-68917740.jpg

What or who in life inspires you?
My husband and children, our life together. I love seeing them happy and everyday I work hard to make them all smile.

What is your all time favourite book?
Impossible to pick one! I refuse! 🙂

What is your writing process?
I always tell my writing group, to just write, get the story down in its entirety, then go back and edit. Don’t keep editing every line you write, because that way you may never see ‘The End!’ I seem to do three rewrites with each of my books. Three is the charm!

Please would you share who your 5 dream dinner party guests would be?
Oh this is good! I would like to invite Oprah, Stephen Fry, Alan Carr, Marilyn Monroe and Michael Buble. Thats a good table isn’t it?

Thank you for stopping by today Carmel and for your wonderful answers
Also a big thank you to Amy at Harper Collins for inviting me to be part of the tour!

Leave a Reply

