Blog Tour: Fallen for Rock Q&A and Giveaway

Today I am part of the Fallen for Rock blog tour.
I am pleased to share with you my interview with Nicky Wells and then later on, I have a guest post!
A big thank you to Nicky for stopping by The Love of a Good Book!

About Nicky Wells: Romance that Rocks Your World!

Ultimate rock chick author Nicky Wells writes romance with rock stars—because there’s no better romantic hero than a golden-voiced bad boy with a secret soft heart and a magical stage presence!

Nicky’s books offer glitzy, glamorous romance with rock stars—imagine Bridget Jones ROCKS Notting Hill! If you’ve ever had a crush on any kind of celebrity, you’ll connect with Nicky’s heroes and their leading ladies.

Born in Germany, Nicky moved to the United Kingdom in 1993 and currently lives in Lincoln with her husband and their two boys. Nicky loves listening to rock music, dancing, and eating lobsters. When she’s not writing, she’s a wife, mother, occasional knitter, and regular contributor at Siren 107.3 FM with her own monthly show. Rock on!

Nicky’s books: Sophie’s Turn | Sophie’s Run | Sophie’s Encore | Spirits of Christmas Fallen for Rock

Join Nicky: Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Romantic Novelists’ Association | Sapphire Star Publishing | Amazon | Pinterest

Did you know? There’s a single out now by Nicky’s fictional rock band Tuscq come to life! “Love Me Better” is available for download from Amazon, iTunes and many other places.

20140702-205625-75385880.jpg
Your novel is called ‘Fallen for Rock’. Please could you tell me about it?
Great question! I won’t repeat the blurb here, so let me tell you instead about the motivation for Fallen for Rock. As you know, my first series of books focused on a girl who has an absolute and incurable crush on a rock singer.

When it came to starting on a fresh story, I wanted to tell the story of someone who really couldn’t stand rock music. I wanted to look at a band through the eyes of someone who thought rock music was just noise, and I wanted to turn that somebody around.

As I was planning, the story shifted and changed and became something much bigger. Emily doesn’t just learn to listen to rock music, she falls for it in a major way. And as she does, she turns her entire life upside down. Intriguingly, I ended up weaving the story around a broken romance, and the object of her desire is notable for his absence! But you know me. There will be no tears at the end!!

Are any of the characters in ‘Fallen for Rock’ anything like you?
Oh gosh, I feel like I should be able to say something really exciting now, like, ‘yes of course’ and ‘it’s all based on my own experience.’ But sadly—no. That’s the great thing about being a writer—you get to create people just how you need them, with or without your own flaws and quirks. Emily starts out being a person I’d never want to be but ends up having everything I’m secretly dreaming about. So I guess she shares my dreams and hopes and excitement even though she’s much more soave, sophisticated and self-assured than me.

20140702-205850-75530359.jpg
Like Emily you are being given all access passes to go backstage at a gig of your choice, what would it be and what would you get up to backstage?
The gig would be either Bon Jovi or Europe. And as to what I’d get up to backstage… Assuming this is an alternative reality in which I’m not married with two children, I’d probably indulge in the same way as Emily does! And that’s all I can say about that right now….

Last time we spoke, I asked about your journey to publication please could you share what happens on ‘publication day’?
Ah, publication day! Publication day is like giving birth. After months and months of preparation, the baby is finally out. Most of the actual action takes place before publication day. I have to ensure that the book actually comes to market, both electronically and in physical form. I’ve had copies of Fallen for Rock under my desk for several weeks now! My publicist sends out press releases ahead of time, and I do stacks and stacks of interviews—some with fabulous bloggers like yourself, Kirsty, and others with local press and radio stations.

On ‘pub’ day itself, I will be hanging out on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and my blog to celebrate the release with my readers and friends. I’ll be giving away stacks of merchandise—bookmarks, postcards, and some other stuff too—and we’ll be playing games and having virtual cocktails. (More on cocktails below).

In the past, I’ve combined launch day with book signings, but I decided to go for a softer launch this time round. “Two hands, one head”—I can’t do everything all at once at all times, or so I’m discovering. So I’ll focus my energies on a virtual presence and hope to be there for readers. J It’ll be awesome!

20140702-205749-75469348.jpg
If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?
Ah, Kirsty, how long have you got? I have a bucket list longer than my arm! But at the moment, I’ve got to say I’m very much in love with the idea of doing a four-week (at least!) road trip of the United States. Coast to coast and back again, campfires, motels, diners, classic sights and all… I’m saving!

Please share with us one random fact about yourself or your book?
Random fact about me: I hate wasps. I can’t stand the blighters. In fact, I’m so terrified of them, I lose all reason, freak out, and run. Sensible adults in my presence keep trying to swat the damn things away (pardon me for swearing) but guess what? They just get angry and go for me, not the person swatting them. I’m a regular wasp magnet. I reckon they recognise the sound of my voice.

This summer, I am prepared. I did my research. I shall be dabbing tea tree oil on my wrists and neck (apparently they can’t stand the smell); our barbeque tables shall be festooned with mint and cucumber (again, they can’t stand the smell); and I’ll buy an exterminator tennis racket thingummy as well if I must.

There. A spheksophobic rock chick author, is that random enough? LOL!

What can we expect next, any future books in the pipeline?
Absolutely! I’ve got three in the queue, and that’s just the ones that have reached the planning stage! But for now, here’s the blurb of my Christmas novella, which is fully written and due for release in October or November 2014. While it is a sequel to last year’s ‘Spirits of Christmas’, it is also very much designed to be read as a standalone.

Fairy Tale in New York

When rock star Jude gets stranded in New York with his family on Christmas Eve, he has no idea that he is setting in motion a chain of events that will turn their Christmas into the most magical one yet…

No good deed goes unpunished, or so it seems to Jude and Carrie on the morning of the twenty-fourth of December. The previous day, they gave up their return flights to London to enable a distressed passenger to make a swift journey home in their stead. Today a spectacular whiteout is grounding all planes, and Jude, Carrie and baby Maya are stuck.

Tired, hungry and just a little panicked, Jude loads his family into a cab and returns to their hotel. But their room has been let, and the hotel is fully booked. Snow is falling heavily, and the family is facing a very bleak night indeed.

How do you celebrate Christmas far from home, with no place to stay, no food, and no presents? Join Jude, Carrie and Maya and a cast of colourful characters in this fairy tale story of Yuletide in New York

At your dinner party, there’s a cocktail in honour of ‘Fallen for Rock’ what would the ingredients be?
If you’re asking Emily, she’d go for Sex on the Beach. Vodka, peach schnapps, orange juice and cranberry juice… the perfect combination. Although come to think about it, Mike introduces her to Golden Slammers (tequila shots with champagne) so perhaps that would be her new choice of the day.

Thanks for inviting me to Love of a Good Book today, Kirsty, I’m so thrilled to be here. I hope your readers enjoyed meeting me too. Rock on!

Fallen for Rock SWAG Giveaway!

To celebrate the launch of Fallen for Rock and to spread some joy, I’m giving away the following items:

One Large Signed Poster of “Fallen for Rock”
Three Sets of Signed “Fallen for Rock” Swag (Postcards and Bookmarks)
Three Sets of Signed “Fallen for Rock SWAG SPECIAL” including 2 bookmarks, 2 postcards and 2 guitar picks
Five Sets of Signed “Fallen for Rock” Guitar Picks (two picks per set)
One Set of “The Complete Nicky Wells Swag” (signed): Bookmarks and postcards for Sophie’s Turn, Sophie’s Run, Sophie’s Encore, Spirits of Christmas and Fallen for Rock
One Audio CD: Bon Jovi “Greatest Hits” (2010)
One Amazon Gift Certificate for £5/$7 or equivalent

20140702-210021-75621478.jpg

Enter HERE:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Small Print:
Giveaway is open internationally. Giveaway entrants must be aged 18 or over. Giveaway closes at midnight on 14 August 2014. Winners will be notified by email.

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Fallen for Rock Q&A and Giveaway

  1. Hi Kirsty! Thanks for hosting me on my blog tour today. It’s always a pleasure to visit The Love of a Good Book, and I had great fun chatting with you.

    Rock on! 🙂

    Here’s wishing good luck to all giveaway entrants… and happy reading!

  2. Pingback: Congratulations~It’s a book! | Romance That Rocks Your World!

Leave a Reply

