Talking Summer with Lucy Lord

Lucy Lord is a novelist and journalist who has written for The Times, Guardian, Independent, Evening Standard, Time Out and Arena. Aside from reading and writing, she enjoys lying in hammocks, long lunches on beaches, cooking and throwing parties; she’s never got the fuss about over-priced handbags. It’s probably fair to say that her books reflect her interests.

www.lucylordauthor.com
@lucylord1

20140727-163533-59733747.jpg

Your novel is called ‘A Girl Called Summer’ please could you tell me about it?
A Girl Called Summer is set mainly on the beautiful sunny island of Ibiza. It revolves around three women: Bella (who you’ll know if you’ve read Revelry and Vanity) who has moved, with her man and baby, into a dilapidated old finca that she hopes to turn into their dream home; Tamara, once Tinseltown’s most notorious wild child, now engaged to her handsome co-star and trying to make it as a serious actress; and beautiful, happy, free-spirited Summer, who was brought up on the island by gentle hippy parents but finds herself wondering if there’s more to life. When Hollywood meets Ibiza, the results are explosive!

Are any of the characters in ‘A Girl Called Summer’ anything like you?
Bella (who is also one of the lead characters in Revelry and Vanity) has always been based on me!

20140727-163607-59767078.jpg

They say the journey to being published is one of the hardest an author can take, please can you describe the journey that you went on?
I sent off my finished manuscript to five agents at a time, full of excitement but preparing myself for rejection. And the rejections came! The thud of the heavy self-addressed envelopes dropping on the carpet became all too depressingly familiar. And then, about a year after I’d sent off the first five envelopes, I received an email from Annabel Merullo at PFD saying that she loved the manuscript and did I want to meet her for a chat. I think I might actually have screamed. Then about a year after that, Annabel called me to let me know that she’d secured me a THREE BOOK DEAL with Harper Collins. I definitely screamed at that!

Writers put so much time and energy into their characters and I have been told in the past that a writer carries their characters around with them.
So my question is if you could go out for a day with any one of your characters: who would it be, what would you do and why did you pick this particular character?

I think my answer to that would vary according to which book I’d just written, so, having been immersed in A Girl Called Summer for the last year or so, it would have to be a day on a deserted beach with Jack Meadows. You’ll have to read the book to find out why!

If you were told that you could live any day without repercussions for your actions, what would you do and why?
That is such a brilliant question, but one that is impossible for me to answer – because of the potential repercussions!

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?
I quite honestly would explore every corner of the globe if money were no option, but I’m very keen on the idea of the midsummer parties when the sun doesn’t set in certain parts of Scandinavia. Or skiing in the midnight sun in Sweden has enormous appeal!

If you could choose one book that you think everyone should read, what would it be and why?
A Girl Called Summer, of course!

If there was one saying that could sum up your life to date, what would it be?
Carpe diem (‘seize the day’, in Latin)

Out of all the destinations you’ve shared with your readers, which would you say is your favourite?
Difficult to say, with so many gorgeous places in the world, but for me, it always has to be Ibiza.

20140727-163708-59828969.jpg

Please share with us, one random fact about yourself or your book?
My husband and I spent a large part of our honeymoon in Anita’s Bar in Ibiza, which features heavily in A Girl Called Summer.

What can we expect next, any future books in the pipeline?
Oh yes. I’ll never stop writing books! I can’t say too much about it, but am very excited about my next one, which is set in the 1960s.

What or who in life inspires you?
My enormous, wonderful family. And Keith Richards when I have a hangover.

Please would you share who your 5 dream dinner party guests would be?
Jilly Cooper, Johnny Depp, Dorothy Parker, Keith Richards and Hunter S Thompson should make for an eventful evening.

At your dinner party, there’s a cocktail in honour of ‘A Girl Called Summer’ what would the ingredients be?
Vodka, apple juice and elderflower cordial, topped up with Prosecco (or Champagne if you’re feeling flush) over crushed ice. Summery, refreshing and absolutely delicious!

Quick fire round:

Mark or Ben?
Impossible to choose. Both!

Plane or boat?
Boat, without a doubt! I can swim but I cannot fly. And turbulence terrifies me.

Early riser or night owl?
Night owl.

Letters or emails?
So wish I could say letters, and I do write thank you letters, but to be honest, over 90% of the time it’s emails

Books or magazines?
Books.

A huge thank you to Lucy for stopping by The Love of a Good Book, if you haven’t read any of her books, you should definitely add them to your list!

20140728-173539-63339747.jpg

Leave a Reply

