Will You Remember Me? by Amanda Prowse

Blurb:

How do you say goodbye to your family for the last time?

Poppy Day is looking forward to her best year yet. She’s thirty-two, married to her childhood sweetheart, and a full-time mum of two gorgeous children. She loves her clean little house in the countryside – a far cry from the London estate where she grew up. Her husband Mart, a soldier, has just returned safe and sound from his latest tour.

But Poppy is so busy caring for others, she hasn’t noticed the fatigue in her body, or the menacing lump growing on her breast. If there’s anyone strong and deserving enough to defeat cancer it’s Poppy. After all, she’s fought harder battles than this. But does life really work like that?

This is the heart-wrenching new bestseller from Amanda Prowse.

20140806-123045-45045252.jpg

My Thoughts:

Will You Remember Me? Is a story that will pull on your heart strings, tug at your fears and envelope you in a world full of emotions,
For Amanda Prowse has depicted one woman’s battle against cancer in a truly beautiful way!

Poppy Day is a 32 year old mum to Peg and Max,
Having known her husband Martin for most of her life, Poppy is a strong woman who is used to life as a military wife.
Over the years she’s fought many a fight for her family but is her battle with cancer one she can win?

I don’t think I’ve ever cried so much at a book as I did reading this.
I was teary eyed as Poppy got her diagnosis, welling up when she started to tell people and come page 118, I was distraught.
I have sobbed throughout this book, my tears and fears came to life!

Not having children myself I think I empathised with Poppy’s daughter Peg more than I did with Poppy herself.
That being said, the thought of saying goodbye and life carrying on terrifies me!

But it wasn’t just sadness that drove this book. The love, friendship and feeling of togetherness wraps itself around every page and caresses every word.
For this book is the story of a family preparing for the unknown, a life with one of them gone!

Poppy is a truly inspirational character, catching glimpses of the things she has done for her family, left me in awe. This woman is incredible
The strength and courage that she instills in those around her is to be commended.

Peg and Max were wonderful characters, they added some light release to an emotional time but that being said, on several occasions, Peg was the reason I was sobbing.

Prowse has created a world, where the characters are friends and everything they do affects you, I couldn’t close this book, I wasn’t able to leave Poppy at hospital or Martin gazing out of the window,
That’s why within a day I read and devoured this novel,

Expect to cry, expect a journey but most of all expect a book that will have you saying ‘Without a doubt, I will remember you!

A big thank you to Teresa at Midas PR for sending me a copy to review

*Want to find out more about Amanda and fantastic books, then why not tune into The Wright Stuff on Channel 5 on the 8th of August!

Leave a Reply

