Slammed by Colleen Hoover

Blurb: 


Layken’s father died suddenly, leaving her to gather every ounce of strength to be a pillar for her family, in order to prevent their world from falling apart. Now her life is taking another unexpected turn… 
Layken’s mother gets a job which leads to an unwanted move across country. However, a new home means new neighbours… and Layken’s new neighbour is the very attractive Will Cooper. 
Will has an intriguing passion for slam poetry, and a matching passion for life. 
The two feel an irresistible attraction but are rocked to the core when a shocking revelation brings their romance to a screeching halt. Layken and Will must find a way to fight the forces that threaten to tear them apart… 
or learn to live without each other.


My Thoughts
When I started this book I never quite realised the journey I would take, not just with the characters but within my own mindset,

Throughout Slammed, I found myself consumed by a journey of emotions.

I fell in love with Will Cooper,

I was left longing to hug Kel and Caulder, two nine year old boys who formed a  friendship that made them a family,

I wanted a best friend like Eddie, who had a birthday that made me cry.

But most of all, my heart went out to Layken and everything she had to face. The strength she showed, was awe-inspiring.

I love everything about this book, it was in-tune with my emotions, the poetry was beautiful and something I found myself reading over and over.

The truth is, it feels like this book delivered me a lesson, because sometimes you read a book that doesn’t just speak to you but it comes into your life at a time when you need it the most.

I needed Slammed, I needed to see that my life is my ‘real’

I cannot thank Colleen Hoover enough, for her words, this story, the characters, I needed them all!

It SLAMMED into my heart and that’s where it will stay!


I read a book called Slammed
It spoke to the heart and made me   see, books can speak so much truth to me.
It was breaking and honest, desperately sad but I can honestly say I love this book bad.
Its story was beautiful, its words so deep.
The characters, the poetry, they all made me weep.
Tears, hurt, love and loss.
Death, anger, frustrations and fears.
Slammed my feelings into the wall, wiped my eyes, closed the book.
Emotions! 
Leave a Reply

