Miranda Monday’s: Jake Steinmann talks I’ll Take New York

Today I am very excited to welcome Jake Steinmann to The Love of a Good Book, you can discover more about Jake in I’ll Take New York by Miranda Dickinson which is available for pre order now!

IMG_2254-0.JPG
Hi Jake, thank you for stopping by The Love of a Good Book.

As a born and raised New Yorker, what would you recommend everyone should do in the city?

Just come and wander through New York. There are so many awesome neighbourhoods, sights, sounds and smells to experience. New Yorkers are proud of their city – and we love people visiting! I’d say make sure you see the city from up high as well as on the street. Top of the Rock and the Empire State both give you amazing views across Manhattan – you’ll see why we think New York is the best city on earth!

You’ve experienced some heartbreak this year. For anyone experiencing the same, what advice would you give them?

Man, just hang in there. Tell yourself it isn’t your failing – because it isn’t. You can try as hard as you can to make something work, but you can’t make someone love you if they choose not to. It sucks, but that’s life. What I would say is to never shut the door on what might be possible. Life can throw your curveballs that knock you off your feet, but it can also surprise you when you least expect it. I believe that. Even if I’ve made this Pact with Bea to never date again, I still believe true love is possible.

Your brother Ed is very loved up, care to share with us a secret about Ed and Rosie?

Ha! OK, but you have to swear not to breathe a word of it to my bro and soon-to-be-sister-in law… I love them dearly but they are the most disorganised couple you ever met! They are useless at planning anything that isn’t for their florists’ store, Kowalski’s. I mean it. Do you know they haven’t even gotten round to throwing an engagement party yet? I’m going to have to step in and organise it for them, or else it will never happen…

With Bea owning a bookshop, it got me thinking, what book about New York would you recommend everyone should read?

That is a tough question – there are so many. Can I choose two? I’d recommend The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald and Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote. Both books show a New York long gone, but the magic and glamour of The Big Apple never really goes away.

One of my favourite films is Serendipity and as a slightly bitter singleton, I wonder if you could tell me is it really that easy to meet the person of your dreams?

Oh sure, it’s easy – when it happens. It takes you by surprise, you know? You think you’re happy with being on your own and then, wham! It hits you. Even when you’ve made a Pact to avoid relationships, like I have with Bea. Your heart can sneak out and fall for someone when you’re looking the other way and then… Well, then that’s when the real trouble starts…

IMG_2256.JPG
What is your favourite part of Christmas in New York?

I love the togetherness of it. Wherever you go in New York people are out in the snowy streets, laughing and making the most of the Holiday season. It really is a special place to be at Christmas. Our Steinmann family Christmas celebrations are pretty much legendary. I gather together with my folks and two brothers, Ed and Daniel at my parents’ house on Long Island, where we eat far too much food cooked by my mother. We end up huddled around the fire pit outside late at night in the snow, swathed in blankets and getting seriously hammered on Dad’s infamous spiced bourbon toddies, while we swap stories and laugh.

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?

Great question! You know, I’d like to visit England. Bea’s told me so much about it and it sounds wonderful. I visited London once when I was at university, but I’d quite like to go back and see more of the country. I know it’s a cliché for Americans to want to visit castles and mountains in the UK, but I’d love to do the whole tourist thing. Germany would be good, too – the Steinmanns travelled to America back in the eighteenth century to make a life for themselves in the New World, so it would be fun to investigate my roots there…

If there was one saying that could sum up your life to date, what would it be?

I love the quote by Marie Curie:
‘Nothing in life is to be feared, it is only to be understood. Now is the time to understand more, so that we may fear less.’

And this one by E, M. Forster:
‘We must be willing to let go of the life we have planned, so as to have the life that is waiting for us.’

Thanks to Jake (and Miranda) for stopping by.

Thanks for having me!

#TeamBea

IMG_2257.PNG

Leave a Reply

