The Heavenly Italian Ice Cream Shop by Abby Clements

51EWUm2x0kL-1._SX325_BO1,204,203,200_

A big thank you to Hayley at Simon and Schuster for sending me a copy to review! 

Synopsis:

Full of mouth-watering flavours, sunshine and escapist adventure, The Heavenly Italian Ice Cream Shop will delight readers with a taste for sweet treats and romance.

Anna and her husband Matteo are ready to embark a delicious Italian adventure. After a year and a half running their ice cream shop on Brighton beach and raising their baby Isabella, Matteo is starting to miss Italy. A shared passion for ices means it’s easy to settle on a new business idea – they’ll open a shop in the town’s cobbled square, a short walk from the sparkling blue sea. For a while, life is sweet; but then Matteo’s overbearing family get involved…

Anna’s younger sister Imogen feels like things are finally coming together – she’s living with boyfriend Finn in a beach house in Brighton, and her photography is taking off. Then her career stalls, and the lure of Capri – and a man from her past – prove difficult to resist.

Join Anna and Imogen and share a summer on the Amalfi Coast that you’ll never forget.

My Thoughts:

I have loved every second of being reunited with Anna and Imogen.

It’s been a couple of years since we left the girls in Vivien’s Heavenly Ice Cream shop and now they are back and ready to add a new gelato shop into the mix.

The truth is I didn’t realise how much I had missed Anna and Imogen until they were back in my life. I attempted to savour every page and keep them with me longer but unfortunately Clements always has me eager to turn the page and as a result my greed for the story won out! 

In fact I feel a slight element of guilt because I LOVE this book even more than the first, I can only blame the beautiful locations and the gorgeous addition of Bella for my disloyal emotions!  

New readers fear not because this can easily be read as a standalone as the characters and their history are explained.

Anna has always been the more grounded of the two sisters but throughout this story she surprises both herself and others with taking the leap and moving to Sorrento but Anna isn’t just thinking as a driven career woman now she is thinking as a mum and she is such a wonderful mum to the cutie that is Bella.

But for me Imogen is my favourite of the sisters and this is purely because I feel like I relate to her the most. She isn’t quite sure where she should settle and at times her need to travel almost consumes her to sum it up she is just trying to find her place in the world.

Then we have Matteo and Finn, the men in their lives.

Two men, so very different but both instantly attractive within the pages. Finn the rugged surf instructor and Matteo creator of divine ice cream with romance flooding through his veins. There is no doubt that these two love Anna and Imogen despite their relationships not always being easy they all find a way to fight for what they want.

I can’t write this and not mention Evie, a family friend who comes into her own in this story, she is a character that you instantly take to heart. (Although in some way I think I’ve taken all the characters into my heart)

Clements writes with such descriptiveness and passion that you instantly fall in love with her locations and characters. I can picture Sorrento so clearly in mind that it feels as though I’ve been there and having finished the book I now have the need to go there.

I LOVE this book, it has now become one of my go to reads for happiness because this is a story of family unity, love and finding your place in the world.

Pure escapism…



Leave a Reply

