Five Random Things about Me by Rhoda Baxter

Today I would like to welcome Choclit author Rhoda Baxter to The Love of a Good Book! 

Five Random Things about Me by Rhoda BaxterHi Kirsty, thank you for having me on your blog. I was dithering about what to write about and thought I’d cheat and tell you five random things about me. I’ve brought biscuits as compensation. They’re still a bit warm from the oven, so you might want to blow on them first.

1> Rhoda Baxter is my pen name. I chose it because I used to work on a bacterium called Rhodobacter sphaeroides and I get all nostalgic about them sometimes. I looked up ‘Rhoda’ to check it was a real name before I started using it, because it sounded quite unusual. Turns out it’s a good old fashioned name – which, I found out yesterday, means ‘Rose’. There are a couple of other Rhoda Baxters who turn up on Google. One of them has an OBE. I am not her, obviously.

2> When I was little I modelled myself after George Kirrin from the Famous Five. I wore boys’ clothes, pretended I was a boy and longed for curly hair. I played with my brother’s Meccano and Lego toys a lot (although I also played with dolls). I still love playing with Lego. So much so that I use it to make my book trailers. I also still have a tendency to think ‘I’m as good a boy any day’. Because I am. https://animoto.com/play/DBE2BHWxYkaRBiFK2Yehww

3> I never intended to write comedy. I assumed my writing would tap into the serious, scholarly side of me (assuming it exists). When I wrote my first feature piece (for the Oxford Student, many, many years ago), this funny voice just came out. Turns out my writing voice is more in tune with my goofball side. So much for appearing to be serious and clever. *shrugs*

4> I can wear children’s shoes. This is a Good Thing. I’m short enough to wear children’s clothes too, but I have boobs and hips so I can’t fit into them. I can’t fit into grown up clothes either because of said boobs and hips, but that’s a whole other story. Thank goodness for shapewear, that’s all I can say.

5> I think of fiction as a way of rehearsing feelings in a safe environment, a bit like dreams. So I like to go deep into my characters’ heads to see how they would react to particular circumstances. In Please Release Me, Grace would react to something in a very different way to Sally. I loved writing Sally because she was bonkers and I was never sure what she was going to do next. It’s brilliant when characters take on a life of their own. A bit like children, only less expensive.

So there you go. Thank you for having me. I hope you enjoy reading Please Release Me as much as I enjoyed writing it. The biscuits have cooled down now, by the way. Would you like one?

What if you could only watch as your bright future slipped away from you?

Sally Cummings has had it tougher than most but, if nothing else, it’s taught her to grab opportunity with both hands. And, when she stands looking into the eyes of her new husband Peter on her perfect wedding day, it seems her life is finally on the up.

That is until the car crash that puts her in a coma and throws her entire future into question.

In the following months, a small part of Sally’s consciousness begins to return, allowing her to listen in on the world around her – although she has no way to communicate.

But Sally was never going to let a little thing like a coma get in the way of her happily ever after …

Amazon UK: http://goo.gl/pxtW7s 

Amazon US: http://goo.gl/rpBhLI

 

 

2 thoughts on “Five Random Things about Me by Rhoda Baxter

  1. angelabritnell

    I always enjoy finding out quirky facts about writers – or should I say facts about quirky writers! Love the sound of the book very intriguing

Leave a Reply

