I Call Myself A Feminist 

So why did we title this book I Call Myself a Feminist?

Because this book – for women and men, girls and boys everywhere – is a statement of intent. Because ‘I call myself a feminist’ is an active, personal and powerful phrase. Because the word ‘feminist’ remains under siege, cast aside by some for being too inclusive and broad and because there are many who refuse to identify with it. Because we are not born a feminist; we become one.

We hope that there is at least one essay here that makes your heart beat in recognition, one that you’ll want to thrust it in front of your friends and family and bellow: ‘THIS! This is EXACTLY WHAT I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO SAY!’

We rallied together in the experience of making this book – as editors, and with all of our splendid contributors. The view from twenty-five women under thirty includes:

Isabel Adomakoh Young Amy Annette

Jade Anouka Meltem Avcil

Laura Bates Emily Benn

Bertie Brandes Rosie Brighouse

Reni Eddo-Lodge June Eric-Udorie

Sofie Hagen Phoebe Hamilton-Jones 

Maysa Haque Caroline Kent 

Abigail Matson-Phippard Naomi Mitchison

Martha Mosse Yas Necati

Louise O’Neill Laura Pankhurst

Samira Shackle Tania Shew

Alice Stride Jinan Younis

Hajar Wright

Young feminists – whether you call yourself one or not – this book is for you.

This one’s for us.

  

A big thank you to Poppy at Little Brown for sending me a copy to review! 

There’s a huge misunderstanding amongst the population around the term ‘feminist’

I personally consider myself a feminist but was once told I couldn’t be one ‘because I like pink too much and that alone has set the female population back years’

The truth is feminism can be found everywhere and in different values.

That’s why I absolutely loved the premise behind ‘I Call Myself a Feminist’ 

25 women all expressing their opinions in essays, 25 completely different personalities sharing their views on hugely diverse subjects which include; Rape, Genital Mutilation, Divorce, Careers and being a WOMAN in today’s society.

I love this book, I love how it shows that feminism doesn’t conform to one generic meaning, a bit like beauty, feminism is in the eye of the beholder.

The essays in this book are empowering and eye opening and amongst them are some incredible quotes. 

Experience a journey of emotions as this book takes you on a thought provoking journey and leaves you in awe of the team that put it together! 

I call myself a feminist. Isn’t that what you call everyone who fights for women’s rights?

Dalai Lama 

  

One thought on “I Call Myself A Feminist 

Leave a Reply

