Talking Lad-Lit with Steven Scaffardi 

Today I am pleased to welcome Author Steven Scaffardi to The Love Of A Good Book

Steven Scaffardi is the author of the Sex, Love and Dating Disaster series. His first novel, The Drought, is the laugh-out-loud tale of one man’s quest to overcome the throes of a sexual drought. After the stormy break-up with his girlfriend of three years, Dan Hilles is faced with the daunting task of throwing himself back into the life of a single man. With the help of his three best pals, Dan is desperate and determined to get his leg-over with hilarious consequences!

The Drought and his new novel The Flood – a comedy about one man trying to juggle four women at the same time – are both available for just 99p on the Kindle at Amazon.

Follow all of the fun on his blog tour by following him on Twitter @SteveScaffardi or by using the hashtag #LadLitBlogTour. More information about Steven and his books can be found on his blog.

Can you describe the Sex, Love and Dating Disasters series in one sentence?
Sex, Love and Dating Disasters is the laugh-out-loud series of books that exposes just how hopeless men are when it comes to the opposite sex!

Where did the idea come from for this series? It actually all started after my wife made me watch one romcom film too many! I can never relate to the male characters in these films and often find myself shouting at the TV screen “But a man wouldn’t do that!” I felt it was time to set the record straight. Romcom’s and chick lit have been setting the bar far too high for men for too long now – I felt it was time to shout to the world that men are not hopeless romantics, we are just hopeless at romance!

If you could choose one of your characters to spend the day with, who would it be and why? Great question! My favourite character is Jack, but I’m not sure I’d want to spend the whole day with him as he can be a cocky little so-and-so. I think I’d actually choose Kelly to spend the day with. She’d be great fun and she is actually really good at offering advice on how to deal with women, and my wife often tells me this is something I need!

In your words, how would you describe Lad-Lit: Lad lit is best known as the male equivalent of chick-lit, primarily written by men exploring relationships, emotions and day-to-day life experiences from the perspective of a male protagonist. Often told with humour, charm and wit, lad lit leaves many readers laughing out loud at the scenarios men get into.

Can you share with us one of your favourite quotes from the series? Dan attempting to justify dating four girls at one time in The Flood: “What it all boiled down to was greed, plain and simple. I was like a chocolate thief with an obesity problem at Willy Wonka’s house and the temptation was all too much for me.”

Are any of the characters in the book anything like you? Yes, unfortunately they are! I would say that Dan is closest to me. In fact, a lot of what happens to Dan in The Drought was based on my own personal experiences. Of course, I embellish and exaggerate with certain stories for comedy value, but then again, some of the stories did not need to be changed…!


 They say the journey to being published is one of the hardest an author can take, please can you describe the journey that you went on? It has been tough at times, especially being an indie author where I have to do pretty much everything! In that respect, the toughest part is not writing and publishing the book, it’s all the promotion that comes after it! You need all the help you can get, which is why I’m so grateful to each and every book blogger who takes the time out to review my books, interview me or allow me to write guest posts. Thanks guys J

 What can we expect next, any more books in the pipeline? I’m working on the third book in the Sex, Love & Dating Disaster series. The working title is The Pact and this time it follows Dan and his friends to Latvia where they are searching for a girl who dated Dan’s best friend Rob. It’s quite different to the first two, and a bit of a tribute to one of my favourite books, The Book With No Name. In this book, the boys get mixed up with a Russian Mafia Don, two Wham loving corrupt cops, a sleazy hotel boss and his strange wife, a pimp who is stuck in the 70s, and a henchman called Ray The Local.

 What’s your writing routine? When I am writing a new book I try to write 1,000-1,500 words a day, but having a one-year-old daughter means that doesn’t always go to plan. One thing I find that really helps is creating a music playlist to go with you book – a bit like a movie soundtrack. It really helps me come up with new ideas.

You are trapped in a book shop (isn’t that living the dream), what section would we find you in and with which book in hand? Ooooh, tough question! My reading lists can vary depending on what mood I’m in. It wouldn’t be a surprise to find me standing there with something like High Fidelity by Nick Hornby in my hands, but equally you could find me searching through the thriller section for something by Jeff Abbott.

The best piece of advice you’ve ever been given? My mum always used to say to me: “If it makes you happy, then it’s the right decision.” Simple but effective advice to live by.

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would it be and why? It would be to Maui in Hawaii. That is where my wife and I spent our Honeymoon, and it was like heaven on earth. A good relaxing place to read and write a book too!

Who or what inspires you? It is a bit of a cliché, but I’m lucky to have a wonderful family who inspire me each and every day. My little girl makes getting up out of bed in the morning all the easier. Apart from when she hasn’t slept at night. Then I wish I could stay in bed all day!

Name one of your favourite places in the world? Las Vegas. I love the buzz of that city and here is something there for everyone. If Las Vegas was a book, it would tell the best stories in the world!

 Please would you share who your 5 dream dinner party guests would be? Ricky Gervais because I think the man is a comedy legend, David Beckham because everyone loves Goldenballs, Robbie Williams because I’m a huge fan, Leonardo Di Caprio because he is my favourite actor, and Stephen King because I think the man is a genius!

 Sex, Love and Dating Disasters is being given its own cocktail (or cupcake) what are the ingredients? Probably the opposite ingredients to what they put in Sex on the Beach, because poor old Dan in The Drought does not have any luck in that department!

 

Leave a Reply

