Destination Thailand (The Lonely Hearts Travel Club, Book 1) by Katy Colins

1

What if you had a second chance… to find yourself?
Instead of slipping on her something borrowed and tripping up the aisle to wedded bliss, Georgia spends her big day crying into a warm Sex-on-the-Beach, wondering where it all went wrong.

Forced to make a bucket list of her new life goals by best friend Marie, it’s not long before travel-virgin Georgia’s packing her bags for a long-haul adventure to Thailand.

Yet, Georgia’s big adventure doesn’t seem to be going to plan. From strange sights, smells and falling for every rookie traveller scam in the book Georgia has never felt more alone.

But the good thing about falling apart is that you can put yourself back together any way you please. And new Georgia might just be someone she can finally be proud of…

51hnAxCKDXL._SX315_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

I’m trying to find the words to describe Destination Thailand in a way that does every single aspect of this book the justice that it deserves. There is something incredible about a book that allows you to forget your surroundings and almost believe that you are in the idyllic locations that are described within the pages. it wasn’t just the location of this story that won me over but the wonderful mix of characters that you discover whilst on the journey. There were characters to love and hate, ones to lust after and long for and characters that spoke to your core. I have often discovered characters that I relate to but I have never before discovered a character who has resonated with me in the way that Georgia Green has.

Georgia Green has had her life turned upside down, she went from planning her wedding to being single, homeless and jobless. But Georgia isn’t going to take these changes lying down and encouraged by best friend Marie she embarks on backpacking her way around Thailand.

I instantly warmed to Georgia and recognised so many of her traits in myself, sadly I am still waiting for someone like Marie to give me a nudge in the right direction.
*Although as I type this I can’t stop thinking about Georgia’s story, maybe this is in fact the nudge that I need.

When Georgia first embarks on her travels she joins a tour group, which brings a variety of people into her life, I have to admit that when she was on the tour I found myself disliking the majority of the people she was travelling with. in fact the only person I did like was Claire a shy french girl who I felt had more that she wanted to say. 

However, later on in the story there are a whole host of wonderful characters to help Georgia with her journey. Like beautiful Ben,  Little Em and Astrid (to name but a few) . 

All of these characters I hope to be reunited with as we travel with Georgia to other destinations in what is proving to be a promising series about The Lonely Hearts Travel Club.

 

This is one of those books that will change you and encourage you to go in search of the happiness you deserve!

 

Leave a Reply

