Q&A: Travelling with Katy Collins

Today I am delighted to welcome the wonderful Katy Collins to The Love of A Good Book!

About Katy:

As a qualified journalist with articles published in Company Magazine and The Daily Star she crossed sides to work in Public Relations before selling all she owned to backpack solo around South East Asia and finally put her thoughts into words, writing as she travelled.

katy-colins-022Katy currently lives by the sea in France where she is on a one woman mission to educate the French about the necessity and technicalities of making a good cup of tea. When she is not writing about romance, travel and adventure, she loves travelling, catching up with family and friends and convincing herself that her croissant addiction isn’t out of control – just yet.

You can find out more about Katy, her writing and her travels on her blog http://www.notwedordead.com or via twitter @notwedordead

Using only three words can you describe Destination Chile? Exotic heart-warming escapism

Georgia is allowing us readers to travel the globe with her, where else will her journey take us? In Destination Chile we are shown a different side to Georgia as she is faced with yet more challenges and certainly feels way out of her comfort zone. Being half the way around the world doesn’t always mean you leave your problems at home.

If you could choose one of your characters to spend the day with, who would it be and why? (FYI I would choose Ben *swoons*)  

Ben is a good call (*dreamy sigh*) but I think I would have to choose Shelley or Marie. Having a squad of friends who ‘get you’ and support you no matter what mistakes you make or how much you embarrass yourself is so important. Plus, they would be great fun to hang out with!

Chile_BFormat_Final.indd

Can you share with us one of your favourite quotes from the series? I think that has to come from Georgia’s dad who says that that even when you don’t feel brave just pretend you do, no one will tell the difference. It’s something I try to listen to myself when I’m in an unfamiliar situation and just want to run and hide. By feeling the fear and doing it anyway it pushes you out of that comfort zone!

What is your dream destination? I am desperate to tick Japan off my list and also want to see the northern lights in Iceland. My problem is that there are too many amazing places out there and no time to fit them all in!

Can you share some facts about your first ever trip abroad? I admit that I was very nervous when I travelled alone for the first time but I knew how lucky I was to get to do this and wanted to make the most of every day. I made some mistakes with paying too much for trips, not haggling tuk tuk fares very well and tried to cram too much into each day but going travelling is a learning curve that helps you to grow in confidence for the next journey!

For those preparing to go backpacking, what five essentials would you advise them to take? Apart from your passport, tickets and money I’d say antibacterial hand gel, an e-reader, a torch, a scarf that works to warm you up and cover you up, and a notepad and pen to keep a travel journal. Trust me you don’t need as many clothes as you think you do.

What’s your writing routine? When I’m travelling I carry a lightweight tiny netbook and 51pq87ylh0l-_ac_us160_try to jot as much down as I can which is fine in the planning stage but by constantly moving locations it’s hard for your brain to switch off and focus! When I’m back in the UK I write in a small office and tend to outline the novel on post-it notes cluttering the walls. I write quickly and then have the fun of edits to polish it until it shines.

You are trapped in a book shop (isn’t that living the dream), what section would we find you in and with which book in hand? A dream indeed! I would of course head to the travel section, I love reading about other people’s adventures in remote places but I am also partial to the self-help section. I think mindfulness and self-awareness is a great way to take a step back from your busy life and appreciate it all. Then no trip to a bookshop would be complete without filling your arms with novels and I love escaping with rom-coms, psychological thrillers and women’s fiction.

51kjjvpr8l-_ac_us160_The best piece of advice you’ve ever been given? The world is your oyster. I was told this many times when my relationship ended and I had no idea what I was going to do next. I think this advice doesn’t just mean to travel but also that anything is possible for you to achieve, if you work hard enough to make it happen.

The Lonely Hearts Travel Club is being given its own cocktail (or cupcake) what are the ingredients? Oh that would be great! Hmm, it would be something with exotic fruits, a dash of spice and served with a cute umbrella!
Destination: Chile by Katy Colin’s is out on 22nd September (Carina, £7.99)



Leave a Reply

